Kenny Burrell–Grammy Award winning jazz guitarist, composer, educator, National Endowment Jazz Master and State Department Cultural Ambassador–lectures and performs at age 81.

Burrell_12
Over the noise of the outside world, I listened to Kenny Burrell and tried my best to copy his phrasing with my voice. That’s how much his music moved me. Listening to this incredible musician, now, I still love his luscious sounds, 45 years later, with a special appreciation for the man who was then only 35 years old with so much of his life and career still to be explored.

 

Of course, the rest is history. Kenny Burrell went on to become a Grammy Award winning jazz guitarist, composer, educator, National Endowment Jazz Master, State Department Cultural Ambassador and UCLA professor of ethnomusicoloy. At age 81, he lectures and performs.
